A tribute to prince Ebitimi Agbare

Prince Ebitimi Amgbare,

Today, I greet you!!!.

This is a man I came to know in the course of this journey “the 2023 elections”.

I visited a friend who asked me if I knew Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s coordinator (Amgbare) in Bayelsa as he sensed I didn’t but had a lot of passion for Tinubu’s emergence. (Sick and tired of the usual grouping’s I had planned on going it alone.) Anyway I confessed I didn’t know him though I had heard his name. On the spot my friend placed a call and handed me the phone.
Who am I speaking with? just talk, he encouraged.

Ruby: Hello sir.
Amgbare: I greet you! boomed from the other end, with what I could sense as a very friendly disposition.

The conversation lasted roughly 5mins. He begged me to please call him anytime, I promised to and after that brief chat, I asked my friend to hand me his number. I called him 3 days later and became a Tinubu Support Group member.

The campaign for us was quite stormy for various reasons, some of our South South sons and political leaders had a keen interest for the same office therefore reducing our numbers, leadership scars from political wars created division which still divide us, lack of cash but for our passion we kept pushing and finally, the opposing parties especially as Bayelsa was and still is a PDP led state but in all of these Amgbare was most reassuring.
He gave us strength.

Prince Amgbare has been here and there. A retired naval officer, fomer commissioner for youths and sports and fmr. director general transport. He had also aspired to be governor of Bayelsa and Senator representing the Bayelsa West senatorial district.

As Action Congress governorship candidate in Bayelsa State, Prince Ebitimi Amgbare is recorded to have challenged and charged the Peoples Democratic Party’s victory which Chief Timipre Sylva won in 2007 and INEC to court. The court then ordered a re-run of the governorship election in the state, Sylva won and was returned.

Prince Ebitimi Amgbare has remained prayerful, dogged, focused, silent, peaceful and true to party, his political mentor and father.

I would love to recall another experience of mine with this rare gem.

JaGaBan had won, I joined my team members in jubilating and expecting the very best for our leader, Amgbare. Personally, I prayed he was nominated as the next minister to represent Bayelsa in any of the ministries. D-Day had come, this was after the first set of names had gone out. The Senate president reeled out the next batch of nominees to be screened:

Akpabio: Prince, emmm sorry, Prince Audu
I leaped for joy and as I landed the name was being switched. My heart sunk but wasn’t shattered.

Akpabio: Sen. Heineken Lokpobiri – Bayelsa State!

The worse had happen, I froze then wept. I felt like the world was closing in on me.

What happened? How? Why? When?

His wife called me about 3 hrs after. I was in no mood to talk, I had taken only one call from my cousin who felt so sorry. I planned on ignoring my phone for the rest of the day but this was my bosses wife. I took her call respectfully. She consoled me. She was strong or was she? She asked me to drop by the next day. He took the phone from her and spoke with me. The Amgbare’s are an exceptional couple, like magic, my despair was fading. I found my voice though still flustered.

Amgbare, attended the Bayelsa PDP’s NASS reception held in Abuja, he was at the honorable minister Lokpobiri’s reception held in Abuja, he served as DG NGO and support groups Sylva/Machiver’s campaign in Bayelsa.

Amgbare holds his own and bares no grudge as he pushes on to further his frontiers.

For him it’s been all about JaGaBan, his support base and the Renewed Hope agenda.

I honestly wish him the very best.

Oga mi, I greet you!!!

  • Ruby Iwoyefa Nyananyo.

Leave a comment